loading...

14 December 2019 22:33

Fortnite Star Wars Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

What time is the Fortnite Star Wars live event today?

New York (CNN) Fortnite briefly invited gamers into the world of Star Wars on Saturday. The only problem was that many users had trouble logging in to see it. While the event was slated for 2 pm ET, Epic had to delay the event by 15 minutes because of issues with logging in and making purchases. Even after 2:15 pm, players still took to social media to complain the game was crashing or they couldn't even open it. For those who were able to log in and tune in, including some YouTubers, the video game brought elements of Star Wars into its fantasy world of pickaxes and survival of the fittest shooting.

First, within the game, spaceships zipped across the sky, including the Millennium Falcon. Then, JJ Abrams presented an exclusive clip from the upcoming film, "Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker." In the clip, Rey performs a mind-trick on Stormtroopers. Finally, players were able to fight each other using lightsabers, before the event ended. Everyone who attended the in-game event also received a free virtual cosmetic, and the store is selling Star Wars outfits. Read More Fortnite shows once again why it is THE Battle Royale game to beat Risky Reels can be found just west of Frenzy Farm or south east of Pleasant Park.

The Fortnite Star Wars event will be taking place at the Risky Reels drive-in cinema with doors opening prior to the event kicking off. Doors for the Fortnite Star Wars event open at 1.30pm eastern time, which is 10.30am pacific time and 6.30pm UK time. The Fortnite Star Wars event will have a start time of 2pm eastern, 11am pacific and 7pm GMT. Make sure you log into Fortnite prior to the event's start time so you can get down to Risky Reels and get a spot before it all kicks off. If, for whatever reason, you are unable to play Fortnite when the Star Wars event is taking place then there will be plenty of people streaming it.

You will be able to watch Fortnite streams on Twitch and Mixer if you wish to tune in that way to the latest Fortnite live event. It appears that Fortnite's servers went down, less than an hour before its in-world premiere of a clip from Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker is due to air at Risky Reels. Downdetector.com lists Fortnite as reporting problems beginning at 1 p.m. EST. Social media is alight with messages saying folks are having trouble logging in across the board. Shout to to @FortniteGame for having there servers go down RIGHT before THE ONLY EVENT OF THE SEASON SO FAR.

#fortnitedown #fortnite get your shit together! pic.twitter.com/P77yhWvCUx — PerryGoRound (@daundertoker) December 14, 2019 Fortnite's official Twitter account for server status acknowledged the problems at 1:30 p.m. We are investigating issues with login services. You may experience issues when attempting to log in or making purchases during this time. We will provide an update when we have more information, thank you for your patience. — Fortnite Status (@FortniteStatus) December 14, 2019 We've reached out to an Epic Games representative to ask what is going on and for more details. Sit tight. The gates of Risky Reels, Fortnite's in-world drive-in, were due to open at 1:30 p.m. to screen a clip from Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, which opens in theaters on Dec. 20. Director J.J. Abrams will be involved in the screening, per a teaser from Thursday night's The Game Awards 2019. Loot is on the line with this event, too. Anyone who participates gets a free TIE Fighter glider. There are a couple of Star Wars skins for sale in the in-game marketplace, too. Update: Players are now able to access the game, and an in-world message from The Game Awards host Geoff Keighley acknowledged the large numbers attempting to log into the game was causing difficulty. A count of viewers on streaming services show some 3 million people alone are watching there. An Epic Games rep said all players will get the TIE glider, whether or not they attended (or were able to) the screening. Wow! Unprecedented demand to get into Fortnite. We had to delay until 2:10 PM ET to let in more players. Thanks for your patience, as a thank you, everyone will get the glider! — Fortnite (@FortniteGame) December 14, 2019 Update 2:30 p.m. EST: The in-game event began around 2:14, with a big flyover from the Millennium Falcon, harassed by a squadron of TIE Fighters after the Empire jumped into system. J.J. Abrams showed up in world to parley with Keighley and a very obnoxious Stormtrooper, before the clip was shown. It involved Rey, Finn and Poe sneaking aboard some First Order vessel and Rey using a Jedi mind trick. Notably, she was carrying her pike from The Force Awakens, not a lightsaber. After the event, the Falcon zoomed off and Emperor Palpatine growled some evil stuff about the day of the Sith being at hand. Fortnite players were given a lightsaber in their choice of favorite color. Here's everything you need to know about today's Fortnite Star Wars event including the time in different time zones. Epic Games announced the Fortnite Star Wars live event last week. The event was teased on the Risky Reels screen along with posters being plastered around the map. The event begins in a few hours and here's everything you need to know. The Arena, Playground, and Creative playlists have already been disabled. We'll keep you updated when the separate Star Wars LTM is live. The larger Fortnite dataminers have already stated that they won't be leaking the event today, but be aware there could still be leaks being posted on social media in the lead up to the event. What time is the Fortnite Star Wars event? Time Zones The event begins at 2pm ET, but the doors to the event open at 1:30pm ET, so be sure to get into a game ahead of time. If you're looking to convert 2pm EST to central, pacific or any other time zone for matter, fear not. Check out the widget below to see what time the Fortnite event will take place in your timezone. Time converter at worldtimebuddy.com Time converter at worldtimebuddy.com Content continues below ad If the above doesn't work, here's a list of the major time zones: 11 AM Pacific Time (PST) 12 PM Mountain Time (MST) 1 PM Central Time (CST) 2 PM Eastern Time (EST) 7 PM Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) 7 PM Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) For any other time zone, click here to view the event in your local time. Countdown Timer Epic Games have been emailing players regarding the Star Wars event which includes a countdown timer. You can also see a countdown to the event in-game at Risky Reels. We've also included a countdown to the event below. Location The event will take place at Risky Reels. Drop off the Battle Bus and you'll see a countdown timer at Risky Reels.