28 November 2020 14:30

The second Australia vs India ODI match will be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground in Sydney.

India have been fined 20% of their match fee for their slow over rate during the first ODI in Sydney. The match ran an hour beyond the scheduled finish, and techically went past the SCG's curfew limit for lights, but no one flicked the switch as the contest finally ended at 11.10pm. These ODIs are part of the World Cup Super League - the qualification pathway to the 2023 tournament in India - and India - and perhaps Australia too - could have faced a potential points deduction, with the playing conditions stating: "If, at the end of the match, the over rate calculation determines that a team has bowled one or more overs less than the minimum over rate requirement, that team will incur a deduction of one point per over for each full over the team falls short of its minimum over rate required in a match." The ICC's release detailing India's over-rate fine, however, did not mention a points deduction. It would have not been of massive concern to India, who have already qualified for the 2023 World Cup as hosts, but it could have been an issue for Australia. Australia legspinner Adam Zampa has conceded that "something has to be done" about slow over-rates.

"I don't know what the ruling should be, or if there should be punishment, but something definitely has to be done about it," Zampa said. "From a viewers' point of view it's probably not the best look for the game." Steven Smith, who scored a match-winning hundred for Australia, said: "It felt like it went all day. The longest 50 overs in the field I've ever had, that's for sure." Zampa suggested one factor in the tardiness was players needing some time to find the intensity for one-day cricket after 14 days of quarantine where, although they were allowed to train for a few hours a day, he said it was difficult to replicate the pressure of the international game. While there was plenty of high-quality batting in the opening match - led by centuries from Smith and Aaron Finch - there was a raggedness to a lot of the work in the field, especially the catching of both sides. "I wouldn't want to make excuses but it's really hard to imitate the pressure of one-day cricket and the best way to do it was when you are together as a squad and you do fielding sessions and the intensity of the training is at that international standard," Zampa said.

Zampa was guilty of one of the dropped chances when he gave Virat Kohli a life on 1, spilling a top edge at long leg, and briefly it looked as though it could prove costly but Kohli picked out midwicket off Josh Hazlewood having made a run-a-ball 21. "It's literally the worst feeling in the world," Zampa said of the drop. "Each run you start to feel it after that, but from my point of view I was pretty keen to try and make amends with the ball. Fortunately, I didn't end up having to bowl to him but it's one of those things, you have to want the next ball to come to you and also want the ball and try and get the wicket as well." Zampa's figures of 4 for 54 were his second-best in ODIs and took his tally in his last four matches to 14 wickets. While wicket-taking records have less significance this year given the overall lack of cricket, Zampa is currently a comfortable leader with 24 wickets at 22.25. "My bowling is at the stage where I'm really confident in my game, confident in my action," he said. "I've played enough now [to know] what I need to do and how to get the best out of myself." Virat Kohli-led India's return to international cricket in several months on Friday was a tough one as the Men in Blue collapsed to Australia by 66 runs in the first ODI at the Sydney Cricket Ground. After that defeat, the visitors will now look to bounce back strongly when the second ODI takes place on Sunday. Most of the Indian bowlers, barring Mohammed Shami (who took three wickets), had an off-day on Friday, as centuries from Aussie skipper Aaron Finch (114) and Steve Smith (105) propelled the hosts to 374-6 after electing to bat. In reply, the likes of Virat Kohli (21), Mayank Agarwal (22) and KL Rahul (12) failed to fire, but Shikhar Dhawan (74) fought hard early on, after which Hardik Pandya entertained with a 76-ball 90, but all that went in vain. Pandya, who last bowled in competitive cricket in September 2019 before undergoing a successful lower-back surgery in October that year, was not yet fully fit to bowl, and he said in the post-match press conference that he would 'bowl when the time is right'. The 27-year-old has been working on remodelling his bowling action in the nets since after that surgery. For the hosts, Adam Zampa (4/54) and Josh Hazlewood (3/55) were clinical in the bowling department. Here's all you need to know about the live broadcast of the second ODI between Australia and India: When is the second ODI between Australia and India? The second Australia vs India ODI match will be played on 29 November. Where will the second ODI between Australia and India be played? The second Australia vs India ODI match will be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground in Sydney. At what time will the second ODI between Australia and India start? The second Australia vs India ODI match will start at 9.10 am IST (2.40 pm local time). The toss will take place at 8.40 am IST. Where can I watch the match on television? All the matches from the India tour of Australia will be broadcast on SONY TEN 1, SONY TEN 3 and SONY SIX. Where can I watch the match online? All the matches from the India tour of Australia will be shown on online platform SonyLiv. You can follow the live blog and updates on www.firstpost.com Squads: India: Virat Kohli(Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-captain & wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur. Australia: Aaron Finch(Captain), David Warner, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey(wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, Moises Henriques, Andrew Tye, Daniel Sams, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper).