13 August 2019 12:51

The second round draw will take place live on Sky Sports following Salford City's clash with Leeds United.

nottingham forest f.c.

Nottingham Forest will be looking to secure their first win of the season against Fleetwood Town in the Carabao Cup tonight at the City Ground. The Reds haven't been beaten in the first round of the competition for four years, when they lost a seven-goal thriller against League One side Walsall. Sabri Lamouchi will be acutely aware that facing Joey Barton's Fleetwood Town side will not be an easy task. The Fishermen will be hopeful of securing promotion to the Championship themselves this season. Barton's past comments on Nottingham Forest when he made his breakthrough as a player make for interesting reading, now that he is arriving at the City Ground as opposition manager.

joey barton

The 36-year-old was rejected as a youngster by the Reds, before eventually making his first team breakthrough as a player at Manchester City. Albeit over 15 years ago, the one-time England international may still be keen to get one over on the Reds tonight. Speaking to Sky Sports in 2004, Barton revealed: "Forest regarded me as too small and that I wasn't good enough. "I didn't see that. The rejection hurt a lot, but my mum said to me 'Don't let anyone bring you down'.

"So I got my head down; I just wouldn't give up." Upset It's fair to say that the midfielder went on to have a successful career, albeit overshadowed by controversy. After leaving Manchester City, he went on to play for Newcastle United, Queens Park Rangers, Marseille, Burnley and Rangers. Ironically, the Reds came close to signing the midfielder in the latter stages of his career whilst under the management of Dougie Freedman. However, the Reds weren't able to get a deal over the line. Now, as a manager, Barton will be hoping his side can beat the Reds and kick-start a memorable cup campaign. If the Reds can progress, they could face a Premier League side in the next round of the competition. Leicester City, Aston Villa and Newcastle United are among the teams who enter at the next stage. The video will start in 8 Cancel Get the biggest Aston Villa FC stories by email Subscribe Thank you for subscribing We have more newsletters Show me See our privacy notice Could not subscribe, try again later Invalid Email Aston Villa will find out their fate in the Carabao Cup this evening. The second round draw will take place live on Sky Sports following Salford City's clash with Leeds United. Hosted by Sky Sports presenter Laura Woods, the draw will be conducted at Salford's Peninsula Stadium. The draw will see the inclusion of the 13 Premier League clubs who are not competing in European competitions - including Villa - as well as Sky Bet Championship sides Cardiff City and Fulham. Leicester City, managed by Brendan Rodgers, will be entering the competition after their quarter-final defeat last year while five-time winners Villa will begin their potential road to Wembley at the round two stage after promotion. Newcastle United are also in the hat for tonight's cup draw. The remaining seven Premier League Clubs will enter the competition in round three. The draw will be regionalised into north and south sections, with fixtures scheduled to take place week commencing August 26. Last year, Steve Bruce's Villa were dumped out 1-0 by Burton Albion in the second round after Liam Boyce scored after 52 minutes. Albert Adomah missed a penalty with a minute to go. Villa's team at Burton: Moreria, Bree, Tuanzebe, Elphick (Elmohamady), Taylor, De Laet, Lansbury, Hourihane, Adomah, El Ghazi, Hepburn-Murphy. As in 2018, the draw will be drawn in Northern and Southern sections. The draw numbers for Round Two are as follows: NORTH 1. Aston Villa 2. Burnley 3. Everton 4. Leicester City 5. Newcastle United 6. Sheffield United 7. Tranmere Rovers / Hull City 8. Grimsby Town / Doncaster Rovers 9. Wigan Athletic / Stoke City Port Vale / Burton Albion Nottingham Forest / Fleetwood Town Bradford City / Preston North End Blackpool / Macclesfield Town Blackburn Rovers / Oldham Athletic Mansfield Town / Morecambe Accrington Stanley / Sunderland Scunthorpe United / Derby County Rochdale / Bolton Wanderers Huddersfield Town / Lincoln City Middlesbrough / Crewe Alexandra Shrewsbury Town / Rotherham United Sheffield Wednesday / Bury Salford City / Leeds United Barnsley / Carlisle United