20 March 2020 08:42

The Weeknd Apple Music The Weeknd After Hours

Listen to the Weeknd’s New Album After Hours

The Weeknd's new album After Hours has arrived. It's his follow-up to My Dear Melancholy, and Starboy. The record was led by "Blinding Lights," "Heartless," and "After Hours," as well as "Scared to Live," which the Weeknd debuted with Daniel Lopatin on SNL. Revisit the Weeknd's "After Hours" short film, and hear the whole new album, below. (Pitchfork earns a commission from purchases made through affiliate links on our site.) Contributors to After Hours include Lopatin, Max Martin, Metro Boomin, Frank Dukes, and Illangelo.

Plus, Tame Impala's Kevin Parker is credited on "Repeat After Me (Interlude)." Read Pitchfork's feature "The Dark Knight Returns: A Conversation With the Weeknd." The Weeknd's 'After Hours' track list contains no features The wait to The Weeknd's longform follow-up to 2016's Starboy is almost over, with the track list for After Hours in the hands of the vocalist's following and the LP slated to land in full on March 20. In one last tantalizing pre-release tease of the studio album, The Weeknd shared the track list for After Hours, which encompasses 14 tracks, and, at this point, no features. Currently, it is unclear whether The Weeknd has simply withheld the names of artists who might hold features on the album, or if it is indeed a feature-less project. After Hours is led by three singles, "Heartless" and "Blinding Lights," and the production's title track. Notably, The Weeknd also live debuted a fourth offering, "Scared to Live," from After Hours on "Saturday Night Live." Photo credit: Duncan Loudon Categories: News After months of anticipation, The Weeknd has finally dropped his long-awaited project After Hours on Friday (March 20).

The 14-song collection features gloomy song titles like "Too Late," "Heartless," "Scared to Live" and "Until I Bleed Out." Surprisingly, there are no features on the LP whatsoever. The album follows his 2018 EP My Dear Melancholy and it's his fourth full-length studio project since his 2016 effort Starboy. The Canadian singer previously released three singles to promote the album: "Heartless" and "Blinding Lights." Last December, "Heartless," which is co-produced by Illangelo, Weeknd and Metro Boomin, reached No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. Both songs are certified platinum by the RIAA. In February, The Weeknd released "After Hours," which was produced by Prince85.

On the new track, he delivers his ghostly falsetto over a melancholy beat. "Oh, baby, where are you now when I need you most/I give it all just to hold you close/Sorry that I broke your heart, your heart," he croons on the song. The album also comes with a scary new look for Abel Tesfaye. On the front cover of the LP, the 29-year-old artist is rocking a tailored red suit but appears to have suffered a severe beat down that left him with a broken and bloodied nose and teeth. The answer to the Weeknd's disheveled appearance may lie in the music on his new album, which is available on all digital streaming platforms.

You can listen to the project below. The Weeknd's After Hours Tracklist 2. "Too Late" 3. "Hardest to Love" 4. "Scared to Live" 5. "Snowchild" 6. "Escape from L.A." 7. "Heartless" 8. "Faith" 9. "Blinding Lights" "In Your Eyes" "Save Your Tears" "Repeat After Me (Interlude)" "After Hours" "Until I Bleed Out" Republic Records Getty Images After a rollout that was months in the making, The Weeknd has finally pulled the curtain back on his fourth album, After Hours. It had been a wild ride up until the project's release on Friday (March 20) — Abel spent the winter dropping a handful of singles and dazzling music videos, blowing our minds with innovative late-night performances, and sharing an extended look at the album's gritty universe in a dark short film. The expansive sonic journey was previously described by The Weeknd as a "brain-melting psychotic chapter." That was certainly mirrored in his chaotic "Heartless" and "Blinding Lights" videos and in the album's bloody-mouthed aesthetic, and it seeps into all 14 tracks on the new project. After Hours is bookended by the sinister title track — which features one hell of a beat switch halfway through — and the creeping closer "Until I Bleed Out," on which he repeats that's he's "so paralyzed" and "so terrified" of not feeling the ground anymore. The rest of the album covers synth-pop jams "In Your Eyes," power ballads like "Scared To Live," and brooding R&B cuts like "Escape From LA." Perhaps most surprisingly, the project doesn't include any features — a major divergence from his last album, 2016's Starboy, which featured A-listers like Kendrick Lamar, Lana Del Rey, Daft Punk, and Future. Hours before releasing his new album, The Weeknd dedicated After Hours to a longtime fan named Lance who recently passed away. "RIP LANCE aka XOPODCAST. You were one of the true original backbones of my XO fanbase," he wrote, commemorating the fan who ran both the XO Podcast and the @TheXOPodcast2 Twitter account. "Can't believe I'm finding out about this today. I'm dedicating After Hours to you, my friend." While the status of The Weeknd's upcoming After Hours World Tour is in flux, these 14 new tracks should hold fans over for a while. And if you still need more Abel in your life, you should strongly consider giving Uncut Gems another spin (or two). Meanwhile, stream his new album below. With the hype surrounding the release of After Hours, XO Records frontman and global R&B superstar The Weeknd has teamed up with Spotify for an exclusive album listening session. The event, which will begin at the same time the album drops (9 p.m. PST/12 a.m. EST), will happen alongside the Toronto-native, who will presumably offer a bit of context to each of the tracks as they're streamed out live. Anyone with a Spotify free or premium account will have access to the event, which can be found here. The anticipation surrounding After Hours has been largely unrivaled this year in terms of new releases, becoming the most pre-added album ever on Apple Music with nearly one million global listeners pre-saving the project to their libraries. The 14-track effort, which is likely heading to the top of the Billboard charts, will include contributions from Frank Dukes, Oneohtrix Point Never, Metro Boomin, Illangelo, Kevin Parker, Elton John, Max Martin, and more. For more music news, listen to Mac Miller's deluxe version of Circles.