17 September 2020 20:41
12:48 p.m.: After Justin Thomas hits his tee shot on the 17th hole into a fairway bunker, he's just about to pull the trigger on his second shot when he holds off and grabs a rules official. There's something behind his ball. If it's a rock, Thomas knows he can remove it without a penalty. But if it's a clump of sand, he's not sure. John Mutch explains to him he can't improve his lie or learn anything about the lie by removing it.
Figuring it probably is sand, Thomas plays the shot anyway … only to have his foot slip in the bunker when playing the shot and it winds up in a greenside bunker short left.